Phish Is Coming Back to Texas!

By John Huston

This is an announcement that I’ve been waiting over ten years to make. Now, I know that this band is not for everybody. In fact, this band is mostly you either absolutely love these guys or you absolutely hate them. Either way, I feel this to be an unprecedented event. Phish will be playing two shows in Texas this summer on July 28th and 29th. First they will play at Austin 360 Amphitheater and then at Verizon Theater in Grand Prairie, Texas. I have already reserved tickets for both shows. Phish has not played a true show in Texas since 1998 where they played the Cynthia Woods Pavilion in Houston, Texas. Phish usually gets a bad rap for being a pointless, meandering, stereotypical jam band. I couldn’t disagree more; I think the main reason that they get that stigma is largely due to how obnoxious a large portion of their fans can be. Just for a second, picture the most obnoxious, stuck-up, and patchouli-oil ridden “hippie”. There are thousands of those men and women there and they can be bothersome and overall insufferable. I have nothing against hippies, I used to have long hair and I’ve always listened to “hippie” music but the pompous attitude that a lot of these folks have ruined the true meaning of what it meant to be a hippie.

Well, that took a tangent that I didn’t think I was going to go on sitting here and writing this post. I digress. Besides, what you may have heard, these 4 guys are some of the finest musicians playing these days. Each one is a virtuoso on their instrument and gives 100% of their effort at every show. I’ve seen them 7 times since their return in 2009 and so far each show has been even better than the last. If you love improvisational-based music and a great live show, there is no better band to check out this summer.

Leave a Reply

